My First Post

A woman typing on a computer keyboard

Hi Everyone & Welcome to my blog!

This is my very first post, so bear with me because I’m still fairly new to social media. I figured it was about time to try my hand at this outlet, and I thank you for taking the time to visit today.

I’ve been on the fence about blogging since I had my first book published last August, and I’ll admit, the reason I put it off for so long, was because I have no clue what to write about on a weekly or monthly basis.

So, to kick-off my blogging journey, I’ve decided to tell you about my start as a writer.

I remember first being bitten by the “writing bug,” when I was fourteen. I walked into a second hand bookstore, and picked up a Julia Quinn romance. I devoured the book within a matter of days, and decided I’d like to try my hand at writing. I picked up a notebook, a pen, and began. I’m pretty sure I still have that first attempt tucked away in my basement somewhere. It was a cringe worthy one, but an attempt no less! My parents were supportive from the very beginning, and bought me my first Brother typewriter/computer. I’d spend weekends at the library researching locals, or books on the craft of writing. Even at such a young age, I was determined to be published one day.

I wrote a second manuscript on a computer, a contemporary romance, and showed it my high school English teacher. She encouraged me to continue, seeing merit in my writing. The rest, as they say is history.

After graduating, I took an eight year hiatus while I attended college, and got married. But, that little voice in my head never stopped talking, telling me I should be writing. Asking me why I wasn’t writing. I now realize it was a sign, from where I don’t know…but I knew I had to write. It was something I was meant to do. Before my son was born, I joined RWA (Romance Writers of America), and my local chapter, WisRWA (Wisconsin Romance Writer’s of America). I met wonderful people whom I could relate to, about anything and everything to do with writing. It was such a thrill! For the first time since I started writing, I wasn’t alone. It was great bouncing ideas off others, venting about plotting issues. Pretty much anything.

With this new shot of self-confidence, I brainstormed my book in the months before my delivery. Β After he was born, I experienced a re-birth in myself. I began burning up the keyboard and writing at night, every night without fail. And it felt good, because I was in my natural element. I was happy. Β After two months, I had a completed manuscript. It was very rough of course, but it was a start.

That was in the Fall of 2010, and after countless revisions, rejections, and pitches later my dream came finally had come true. And I’ve never looked back.

30 thoughts on “My First Post

    • Alina, you are too kind, thank you so much for the lovely compliment. πŸ™‚ I feel truly blessed to have started as early as I did, and I’m happy I never gave up on my dream. Thank you very much for stopping by today!

Leave a Reply

